Jas Singh

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Jas Singh

Jas Singh

@TheJasSingh

Building a local newsletter to $1M/year.

Katılım Haziran 2016
394 Takip Edilen34.5K Takipçiler
Jas Singh
Jas Singh@TheJasSingh·
Should I start this account back up? If we’ve chatted before or you remember me, comment below!
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The Local Newsletter G 🐝
TELL ME THE HARSH TRUTH: Is it possible/realistic to earn +$150.000 a year from a local newsletter? (My city is 350.000 people.) ... Or is it only a few outliers that has done it?
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The Local Newsletter Guy | Ryan Sneddon🍦
Local newsletters are undoubtedly the best and easiest side hustle anyone can start right now. Here’s why: • There are so many free or cheap tools out there. I use @beehiiv and @NotionHQ. You can do everything else with Google (sheets, drive, etc) • Getting subscribers is simple. FB ad targeting is easy. Every town has at least 1 FB group. Referral programs are fantastic because everybody gossips. • Ridiculous profit margins. When you sell ads, you’re selling something that costs you nothing to produce. Every town of more than 25,000 people should have a local newsletter. If you don’t know where to start, you can listen to all of my podcasts and comb through all of my tweets. I’ve shared almost everything I’ve learned building a local newsletter that will do $320,000 in revenue this year. People have done this and I’m rooting for them. But that takes hours and hours of hard work. I built a 5-day launch guide but once you start, then what? So for people who are really serious about building a local newsletter for their town, I’m giving 10 people one on one access to me and a personalized plan to build their local newsletter. We’ll work together multiple times per week. I’ll help you sell ads, gain subscribers, and even hire help. It’s not a course. It’s personalized mentorship with accountability. If you’re committed to building a local newsletter, check this out to see if you’re a good fit. Oh btw 5 spots are already gone. Applications close in 55 hours.
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
60% of mid-sized hotels are owned by a single Indian family… A family even Charlie Munger was scared off. Who are they? The Patels. Here’s the story of how The Patels… have dominated the entire hotel industry for 50+ years: Immigrants have a secret formula that locals just don't have. And one family mastered it to dominate an entire industry. The Patel Motel Cartel. Immigrating to the U.S. from Gujarat, India, in the 1960s and 70s. They entered the motel business with low initial investments. Purchasing small motels with 10-12 bedrooms. Living in two while renting out the rest. By cutting costs. Providing 24-hour service. They undercut the rest of the competition. But how did they acquire so many motels? Chit funds. An idea foreign to American. What are they? A tool to pool everyone's money. By contributing to and sharing a collective fund. They accessed capital turn by turn. Allowing them to buy more properties one after the other. This wasn’t just about money; it was about a shared vision. With each new motel. They trained relatives and friends, expanding their network. And creating a proven flywheel for others to succeed off. This community-driven model built a reputation for reliability and quality. Success bred confidence. And today, Patels own and operate an estimated 60% of mid-sized motels and hotels in the U.S. With Charlie Munger even saying, “Do you want to compete with the Patels? Not I!” Now do you agree with Charlie Munger? Would you ever compete with the Patels? Comment below your story of the Patels! And to read more stories like these, be sure to follow me @creatingjas.
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
My Local City Newsletter has over 1900+ subs. (in under 4 weeks) On track to over 5000+ subs in the next 30 days. Here’s how I plan to make over $100,000 next year… using just my local newsletter. Let’s break it down: With the current growth rate… I’m on track to hit over 12,000 subs by the end of the year. Here’s the math: Subscribers: 12,000 Open Rate: 60% CPM (Cost Per Thousand Impressions): $100 This means each newsletter sent out can make: 12,000 subs * 60% open rate = 7,200 opens per newsletter At $100 CPM, that’s: 7,200 opens / 1,000 * $100 = $720 per newsletter I send out my newsletter 3 times a week: $720 per newsletter * 3 newsletters/week = $2,160 per week So, for a month (4 weeks): $2,160 per week * 4 weeks = $8,640 per month Annual revenue from primary ads: $8,640 per month * 12 months = $103,680 But wait… I also plan to include secondary ads and sponsored content. Let’s say I run an additional secondary ad in each newsletter at a lower CPM of $50: 7,200 opens / 1,000 * $50 = $360 per newsletter With 3 newsletters a week: $360 per newsletter * 3 newsletters/week = $1,080 per week Monthly revenue from secondary ads: $1,080 per week * 4 weeks = $4,320 per month Annual revenue from secondary ads: $4,320 per month * 12 months = $51,840 Combining both primary and secondary ads: $103,680 (primary) + $51,840 (secondary) = $155,520 per year Now a lot of this is back-of-the-napkin math. And I’m probably missing a few hidden costs. And I probably won’t sell out all of my ad slots. But you can see how even with just my primary ad slots. I can over $100,000 next year pretty easily. Would you personally start this newsletter in your city? If not, why not? Comment below! And if you want to keep up with my local newsletter… be sure to follow @creatingjas for more.
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
This local Pilates Studio makes $482,300/year. By using a unique pricing strategy. And just 2 employees. Here’s how they do it: With the Pilates trend growing every year… here are a few facts, before the story: - Pilates is one of the fastest growing trends right now - Popular among people seeking a balanced lifestyle Now that’s cool and all… but, how is The Fitual making over $482,300/year from it? Let’s break it down: The Fitual has two studios: - One with 8 reformer machines - One with 20 yoga mats Each class is 45 minutes long, and they offer 8 classes a day per studio. With a 90% booking rate. Here’s some back-of-the-napkin math: - Total classes per day: 16 (8 reformer + 8 yoga) - Avg booking rate: 90% Daily revenue calculation: - Total classes: 16 - Capacity per class: 8 (reformer) + 20 (yoga) Total attendees per day: (8 * 8 * 0.9) + (20 * 8 * 0.9) = 57.6 + 144 = 201.6 attendees/day Assuming the AOV of $17.60/class Based on their popular intro package. (any 3 classes for $54.80) The studio makes $3,545.60/day in revenue. (201.6 attendees * $17.60) Annual revenue: ~$1.29M Dollars/year. Now let’s break it down further: Gross Profit: With a 30% COGS (higher for fitness studios) Gross profit: $903,200. Operating Expenses: Assuming 50% of revenue, that's $645,000. Net Profit: This leaves a net profit of $258,200/year. But wait, there's more! By offering private sessions and specialized workshops… they add an additional $224,100/year to their revenue. With private sessions averaging $100 each. Running 5 sessions per day. Total Net Profit: ~$482,300/year. Now a lot of this is back-of-the-napkin math. And I’m probably missing a bunch of hidden costs. But it seems like a profitable business for anyone passionate about fitness. Would you personally start this business in your city? If not, why not? Comment below! And if you want more business breakdowns like these, be sure to follow @creatingjas for more.
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
Immigrants have a superpower that most locals lack. A chip on their shoulder. To prove their friends, relatives, and haters wrong. There’s nothing wrong with people born and raised in the same country. But let’s face it—immigrants are built different. While locals often get comfortable, immigrants arrive with an expectation to fail from their own family back home. They move to a whole new country for a fresh start. With that chip on their shoulder. They start: • Businesses • New jobs • Side hustles and more Being hungry to succeed. With nothing to lose. They’re all in. The perfect example: The Patels. Immigrating to the US in the 1960s & 70s from Gujarat, India. They went into the motel business. With low initial investment. They’d buy a small 10-12 bedroom motel. Rent out 8 rooms, living in the other 2. While being the staff themselves. With low costs… they were able to come in and undercut the rest of the market. While providing 24-hour service. But how did they acquire so many motels? Chit funds. Pooling resources within their community. Creating a fund where everyone contributed and took turns accessing capital. This allowed them to buy more properties. And it wasn’t just about money. It was about trust, and a shared vision. As they gained more motels, they trained their relatives and friends. Expanding the network. Ensuring high standards of service and cleanliness. This community-driven model created a reputation for reliability and quality. With each success, their confidence grew. Proving to themselves and everyone else that they could make it. Today, Patels own and operate an estimated 60% of mid-sized motels and hotels in the U.S. Moral of the story… Immigrants are just built different. Do you agree with this? If not, why not? Comment your take below! I’d love to know where others stand on this… And to follow my business journey as an immigrant, follow me @creatingjas
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
This local Cricket Complex makes $855,000/year. By hosting 20 tournaments and 500 matches a year. (with almost no marketing) Here’s how they do it: With cricket growing rapidly every year… here are a few facts, before the story: • Predicted to be a mainstream sport in the US by 2030 • With the T20 World Cup 2024 also in the US • and a push for cricket to be in the 2028 Olympics It’s safe to say that cricket is here to stay. Now that’s cool and all… but, how is this cricket complex making over $855,000/year from it? Let’s break it down: After investing $12M Dollars in 2018. Tanweer Ahmed found Prairie View Cricket Complex. A six-field cricket complex with state of the art facility. After partnering with Major League Cricket. The business never looked back. With it renting for: • Avg cost of ground rental for a match: $1,000/day • Avg cost of tournament packages: $10,000/tournament (based on other similar facilities) The Complex differentiated itself… with their multiple revenue streams: • Ground Rental: $500,000 (500 matches at $1,000 each) • Tournament Packages: $200,000 (20 tournaments at $10,000 each) • Practice Nets: $15,000 (100 sessions at $150 each) • Additional Services: $140,000 (20% of total rental income) Their total estimated revenue: $855,000/year Now let’s break down their costs: • Maintenance and Upkeep: $171,000 (20% of revenue) • Salaries and Wages: $128,250 (15% of revenue) • Utilities: $42,750 (5% of revenue) • Promotion: $42,750 (5% of revenue) • Insurance and Security: $25,650 (3% of revenue) • Miscellaneous Expenses: $17,100 (2% of revenue) Total costs: $427,500 Running at about 50% margins. The owners take home an estimated of $427,500/year A lot of this is back of the napkin math. And I’m probably missing some hidden costs. But it seems like a sustainable, community-centered business to run. Especially with upcoming growth. Now tell me… Did I miss anything from this story? And would you personally start this business in your city? If not, why not? Comment below! And if you want more business breakdowns like these, be sure to follow @creatingjas for more.
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
If you’re a blue collar worker… or someone that’s good with power tools. Here’s how you can make an extra $30,000/year. By fixing small everyday problems for people like me. I bought a new lawnmower 3 years ago. Not knowing a single thing about lawnmowers. I went to Lowe’s asked the worker for help. And bought the first thing they recommended. I was 19. With no previous experience. I thought “what could go wrong”. But yesterday, trying to mow the lawn for the first time this year. It never started. I watched a few YouTube videos. But couldn’t figure it out. So now, I’m looking for someone who: - Takes like a $50 fee - Diagnosis the problem - Fixes it in in 30 mins and I go on my way. This is the power of a knowledge gap. Me: A novice with power tools and this kind of stuff. Will pay some guy to figure it out. It could be as simple as changing some little part. Since I have no idea and don’t want to waste time on it. I’d rather ask for help. and this is the story of thousands of other people in every city. So, if you’re one of the following: - Blue Collar worker - Good with tools - Can figure sh*t out Go put up an ad on FB Marketplace. Run a few google ads. and BAM! You’ll get an extra 3 jobs a day, fixing small problems for folks like me. - Fixing lawnmowers - Fixing ACs - and a hundred of other things around the house Charge $50 on avg. For 3 jobs a day. 5 days a week. and that’s an extra $30,000/year. Would this work in your city? and should I pay this guy? or just try to fix it myself? Comment below!
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Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
I recently saw a serial entrepreneur… who turned a family ranch into the Disney World of youth baseball. (with no marketing at all) Here’s how he did it: Meet Lance Bird. Owner and founder of Rocker B Ranch. The Disney World of youth baseball in Texas. But before we break it down, here’s a bit about Lance: - Lance grew up in Texas, playing baseball with his family. - He bought the property in 2005, initially just as a family retreat. - By 2009, he had converted a horse arena into a small wiffle ball field for his son. And that was just the beginning… What began as a family hobby, grew into: - First field: 2009 - Second field: a few years later - and by 2024: 4 fields, 50 hotel rooms, a swimming pool, a coffee shop, and more When the first 14 tournaments went live, the response was overwhelming: 400 teams signed up in 2 minutes. (crashing the registration software) Turning it into a premier baseball facility… today Rocker B Ranch has: - 115,000-gallon resort-style pool - World-class food: Homemade wood-fired pizza and gelato - Family-friendly activities: Fishing, swimming, and more While the day to day business is run by: - Lance’s brother, Bart, managing on-site operations. - And his wife handling the sales and marketing. Lance oversees the whole vision. With plans of: - More hotel rooms and additional fields - Potential for dedicated softball fields - Continued investment in quality and guest experience and hundreds of other half baked ideas. To turn this into the ultimate baseball vacation. Now tell me… Is this a place you’d visit with your family? Or even better, would you start business in your city? Comment below and follow me @creatingjas for more stories like these. and follow @mhp_guy for the original story and the full podcast episode!
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
Taking my Local newsletter to 5,000+ subscribers. (Part 3) In the last week, I’ve added over 650+ subs. On average gaining 80-100 subs/day. In the last week, I’ve: • Gotten five sponsorship requests • In the process of closing two • Went to the farmer's market (connecting with businesses) • Still spending $50/day on FB Ads and changed my schedule from 2X/week → 3X/week. Increasing the number of ad spots I can monetize. Until I get to 10k subs. (hopefully by October) I'll be reinvesting all the profits into more FB ads. Total $ invested: $1080 CAD How much revenue do you think this newsletter can generate? and ask me any questions you have in the comments below!
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Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
I met a 1.7 GPA high school student. Who went from a Division 2 Lacrosse Player… to buying a Dumpster Rental business. Making over $1M Dollars/year. (in under 4 years) Here’s his story: Everyone meet the Dumpster Rental Guy on Twitter. AKA Bodhi. Here’s a bit about him: - Has over 10K followers - Grew up in New York - And managed a 1.7 GPA in high school Now how did he turn his life around? Scholarship. With everything going against him. He knew he had one thing he was good at… Lacrosse. Leveraging that to get a scholarship to a Div 2 college. He raised his GPA to 3.5. Now wanting to land an internship in his 3rd year. He started finance blog to boost his resume. Growing that to 1000 visitors a post. he landed his first internship at Active International. A multi million dollar media company. Where he was forced to learn Google Ads, SEO, and PPC. Little did he know that’d be his biggest blessing in disguise. While working on accounts like Kroger for a year. He learnt everything Marketing. With his college almost coming to an end. His best friend & lacrosse teammate came to him with 3 ideas... One of them: a dumpster rental business for sale. Liking the idea, both of them pulled the trigger: - Borrowing 100k from his dad - He bought the business for $120K cash - 20 dumpsters, 1 truck, 65-year-old owner - All previous customers paid cash, no contracts - Essentially paying for the equipment Taking a gamble they knew they could make work. Using his digital marketing background, the revenue grew: - First year: $250K - Second year: $500K - Third year: $750K - On track to do $1M this year Growing the business with simply… - 2 Google Sheets (drop-offs and pick-ups) - And QuickBooks for billing He reinvested most of his profits back into the business for the first 2 years. Spending $90,000 on Google Ads during that time. Having more leads than they could count… Bodhi started buying extra dumpers. (60 dumpsters in total today) Today he runs a very profitable business. Spending only $750 on social media marketing per month. Acquiring most of his new customers from SEO. With 75% of clients being contractors, and 25% residential. Bodhi has now started subcontracting out demolition jobs to grow his business. Today, Bodhi’s business is doing: - Revenue this year: $1M - Gross: $450K - Net: $275K With no plans on selling the business. Bodhi’s using the cash flow to fund: - his day to day expenses - new business ideas - and investments With the dumpster business being on autopilot. Bodhi’s now focused on growing his SEO agency. (with a 100+ clients) Now tell me… Is this a business you would start in your city? If not, why not? Comment below! and follow me @creatingjas for more stories like these. And follow @irentdumpsters for more information on his business.
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Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
I interviewed 11 home service business owners. For 20+ hours, so you don’t have to. With a combined revenue of over $55M Dollars/year. Here are the 7 lessons they taught me: For context, My name is Jas. I interview Home Service Business owners. To help: - Share their story - Teach how to get started - and give real numbers about their businesses Now that you know what I do… here are the 7 lessons I’ve learned from all of my interviews: 1/ Customer Feedback If there’s one thing you take away from this… listen to your customers. It can help you: - Enter new markets - Add new services - and make sure your customers come back Each of which can double your business. 2/ SEO Focus on SEO early. Every business owner I talked to did… and it provided the biggest ROI. 1. First, Optimize your GMB. 2. Then, create high-quality content relevant to your services. 3. and lastly, get high quality local backlinks to create authority. 3/ Balance Balancing a full-time job and a business is tough. Learned it from @dankats23. His secret? Early mornings and late evenings. Business doesn’t have to be all in. You just need to find the right hours to do both. 4/ Specialization Don’t do it all. Instead of trying to be a jack-of-all-trades. Specialize in one. Example, a cleaning business owner focused solely on Airbnb turnovers. This niche focus made him the go-to expert. Doubling his client base in a year. 5/ Hiring Hire for culture, not just skills. Skills can be taught, but culture can not. So focus on: - Values - Attitude and ask yourself… Would you go out with them for a drink? 6/ Hands-On Experience Do the job yourself before delegating. Learn skills like door knocking or cold calling before you delegate them. - This helps you understand the challenges. - Optimize processes based on firsthand experience. - And create SOPs for new employees. 7/ and lastly, Market Focus When running a service business, go deep before you go wide. Own certain neighborhoods before expanding city-wide. - Master your services in a smaller area. - Build a strong reputation locally. And using your success as a foundation for broader expansion. These are the 7 lessons I learned from talking to multiple SMB owners. If you liked these lessons and want to read more stories… bookmark this and follow me @creatingjas for more.
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Global talent can help reduce employee costs by over 80%. But, there’s more to it than just posting a job ad. So to help with your first hire, here are the… 9 tools you need to hire your first offshore employee: (In under 7 days)
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I recently met a 29-year-old entrepreneur… Who gave up on his $45k/month marketing agency. To start a roofing company, making $6M/year. (with no roofing experience) Here’s how he did it: Meet Sam. Starting his first business as a senior in college. He started a local gym. Growing it by using FB Ads. Sam had gotten his first win. Selling that business after a year. He wanted try the 9-5 life… landing himself at a fortune 100 energy company. He got bored again. Starting a side hustle as an online personal trainer. He replaced his income within a few months. Quitting his 9-5 after two years. Noticing that it’d take him 20+ years to get a salary of $250k. He noticed his true skill: FB Ads. Having grown two successful business using only FB Ads. Sam decided to spin up a marketing agency generating leads for local businesses in Florida. Roofing companies being his best clients. He decided to double down. Getting 15 roofing clients at $3,000/month. (When it wasn’t saturated) Working himself into another job. He got the shiny object syndrome, once again. (common theme) Giving e-commerce a try. It was a hit. Selling viral products. He was basically printing cash. Having $30-50,000 days. Sam still felt like something was missing. He wasn’t building enterprise value. Making money was good. But he didn’t know how long it would last. Going back to his agency. Sam had kept 4 clients. (the ones giving the least hassle) One of the executives wanted to start something themselves. Telling Sam he had tripled their business overnight. Offering Sam the role of a co founder. Sam took it up. Handling everything Marketing and Sales. The business sky-rocketed… Doing revenue of: - $2.5M - 2021 - $6.5M - 2022 - $13M - 2023 and on track to do over $30M this year. With a team of 33 employees. and an EBITDA of 20%. They spend a budget of $100-120,000/month on marketing. Focusing on all channels like: - 50% - Google Ads - 20% - FB Ads and the rest is Mailers, TV Ads, Door Hangers and so on. Now with that being the Sam’s story. Would you start a roofing company like this in your city? and how much is the biggest roofing company in your city making? Comment below! To read more entrepreneurial stories like these follow me @creatingjas. and if you want to learn more about the roofing business, follow @sam_allsopp_.
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I bought my first rental property 17 days ago. Thinking it was the worst decision of my life. (At the age of 23) I was scared… Especially, when my realtor called saying: “There’s water in the basement.” After almost backing off from the deal. It all worked out. - With water in the basement - Not knowing if I overpaid - and other renovations It was the most money I had spent on something. I wasn’t sure if I wanted all of this hassle for my first property. But it turned out to be the best thing I could’ve asked for… - Exterior waterproofing is starting today - Will also be installing a sump pump with it - Basement renovations will be starting by start of June and to make me feel even better… A house on the same street as mine. - Less renovations - 200 sq ft less sold for $380,000. ($30,000 more than the price I bought at) So despite the ups and downs. I’m getting to learn a lot: - How to manage tenants - Talking to contractors - Getting quotes and so on It seems everything is working out slowly. Do you think I made the right move by buying this house? If not, what would’ve you done instead? Comment below! Thank you for your advice. and follow me @creatingjas to follow along my real estate journey.
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I’ve added over 458 subscribers… to my LOCAL newsletter in the last seven days. On track to over 5,000 subscribers, in the next 60 days. Here’s how to plan to monetize my newsletter. and turn it into a HoldCo by the age of 25:
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Thank you for 1000 followers! After shutting down my old account with 38,000 followers. I started posting on this account 37 days ago. I had doubt: - Can I do it again? - How long will it take? - Was it luck? I’m going to answer all of those questions in this post: First, why did I restart? Quality > Quantity I had built my old audience in the AI niche. By going viral multiple times. (10M+ impressions on some posts) When I made a pivot from AI to personal brand. My content stopped performing. - Super low engagement - Low impressions - Written by AI I was posting everyday. Just for consistency. The followers I had, were just a number. I couldn’t: - Build a community - Monetize - or even engage with them They were simply pixels on a screen. After giving up and not posting for months. I wanted to see. Was it all luck? Can I do it again? So when @CoFoundersNik launched the growth madness challenge. It inspired me. With everyone giving it it there all. I decided to start fresh. 0 followers. April 9th. It was a fresh start. And so I started posting. - About my life - New business Ideas - Other entrepreneurial stories and more While spending an hour a day engaging with other cool accounts like: - @mhp_guy - @meetmikehiggins - @TylerPurcell24 - @trentjhughes and multiple others. It was working. The result: 1000 followers in 37 days. With this being the start. Thank you everyone for their support. I look forward to growing this community together. While sharing more personal, business, and other entrepreneurial stories. Comment below any questions you have for me! About audience growth, business, or my future goals. I’d love to answer them. If you like this post and want to follow me for my journey… be sure to follow @creatingjas for more.
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My company makes $300,000/year at the age of 23. And the best investment I’ve ever made is… driving my mom's Toyota Matrix every day. (I plan to do it forever) Don't believe me? Let me explain: For some context: • I’m 23 • Running an offshore staffing agency • With a few side projects and I drive my mom's Toyota Matrix every day. But, why? Let’s get into it: Disclaimer: I love cars. (Fav car: Porsche 911 in forest green) But they’re a depreciating asset. Meaning, they don’t make me money. So at 23, I think they’re a dumb investment. Will I buy nice cars someday? Yes. But is today that day? I don’t think so. Right now my priorities are: • Buying my second rental • Building cash-flowing businesses • and reinvesting into more skills So any dollar that doesn’t go into one of those three things. Or an experience. (traveling) Is a waste. It’s only taking me further from my goals. Some might say… but when will you buy a nicer car? My answer: • After I pass 300k in income • or get a million-dollar net worth Whichever comes first. (A point where it’s hard for me f*ck things up) Do you think I’m wrong for not buying a nice car? What car would you buy if you were in my shoes? Comment below! And to follow my journey of growing cash-flowing businesses… follow me @creatingjas
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Jas Singh
Jas Singh@CreatingJas·
I recently talked to a 32-year-old startup founder… Who co-founded 2 multi-million dollar startups in under 4 years. Now, investing in multiple startups a year. Here are the lessons he taught me: I’ve had two 30-mins calls with Trenton. First, here’s who he is: - 32 years old, lives in North Carolina -Cofounded and exited two startups (Station Entertainment & Helpware) - A husband and dad to an 18-month-old - Now building a venture studio, UnFounded Ventures Helping other founders build profitable startups. Now here’s what I learnt from him: 1/ Purpose Driven Businesses Find one core problem. And focus every resource on solving that one problem… for your ICP. (Ideal Customer Persona) Why? because purpose leads to community. A group of people who are facing the same problem. Trying to figure it out together. Attracting passionate customers and employees. Which, in turn, drives profits. For him at 32, that’s the core of his venture studio. “Creating profitable services startups focused on solving real problems” 2/ Multiple touch points “One is never enough.”, he said. Let me explain… It’s not enough to send a single email or message. Persistence and presence. Whether it’s: -Emails - Physical cards - LinkedIn messages - or tweets. You need multiple touch points. (around 7-8) to effectively engage potential customers or partners. So, don’t stop at one. 3/ Reviews. Review. Review. They scale businesses. The more the better. You can never have enough. While scaling a previous recruiting business to 1000+ employees. Reviews changed everything. Helping them: - build a reputation - more trust -get visibility and more Creating a flywheel that made… the lead gen and the hiring much easier. 4/ And lastly, base hits. Kind of like baseball. Get yourself warmed up. Before aiming for a grand slam business, get your first win. No matter how small: - Small exit - Side hustle - or even being an early employee Prove that you can do it. Not only to others, but often times yourself. Setting the foundation for your future businesses. Now if you liked some of these lessons, and want more of these in the future. Follow me @creatingjas and @trentjhughes for more.
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